European U18 Women's 7s Championship

September 11 2016

Canada Win Bronze at Euro 7s Championship: Full Match Videos


posted Sept 11 2016

The host team France went through the tournament undefeated and won Gold, the Americans claimed silver after defeating Canada by 2 in the Cup semis. Both teams scored 3 tries but the Americans made an extra conversion. Canada defeated Spain 26-7 in the Bronze match to claim 3rd.



Quarter-final match (Canada v England starts at 1:13)


Semi-final and Finals (Canada v Spain starts at 2:11)


Canada's Day 1 Results:

Canada 26-0 Portugal
Canada 22-7 Netherlands
Canada 7-46 France

Canada's Day 2 Results:

Canada 29-21 England
Canada 17-19 USA
Canada 26-7 Spain

Canada U18 Women

Olivia Apps (Aurora Barbarians), Lindsay, ON
Brooke Bazian (South Kamloops Secondary School), Kamloops, BC
Khadija Brouilette (Balmy Beach RFC), Scarborough, ON
Caroline Crossley (Castaway Wanderers), Victoria, BC
Sophie De Goede (Castaway Wanderers), Victoria, BC
Daniella Grant (Aurora Barbarians), Stouffville, ON
Niamh Haughey (Toronto Saracens), Scarborough, ON
Taylor Hurd (Oakville Crusaders), Oakville, ON
Tausani Levale (Abbotsford RFC), Abbotsford, BC
Rachel McCallan (Ottawa Irish), Ottawa, ON
Denise Roy (Brentwood College), Cowichan, BC
Tia Svoboda (Belleville Bulldogs), Belleville, ON



Canada and USA Invited to European U18 Women's 7s Championship to Kickoff on Saturday: Rosters and Streaming Links


posted Sept 9 2016
[ed. comments below]

These are the next generation of potential Olympians for both Canada and the USA. It's a great opportunity for players from both countries to test themselves against Europe's best. The streaming links are below in the Rugby Breakdown article. The rosters for both countries are also listed below.

from Rugby Canada

Canada are set for the U18 Women’s European Championships that will kick off Saturday from Vichy, France.

Head coach Sandro Fiorino, who is an assistant coach on Canada’s Olympics bronze winning women’s team, recently named a 12-player team for the tournament.

"With little to no prep time the team has strived to connect as a unit during practice," Fiorino said. "The has progressed each day and are starting to build trust and confidence within one another."

The tournament will feature 16 teams with Canada being drawn into Pool D where they will face the Netherlands, Portugal and hosts France.

The squad features a number of Canada’s rising young sevens talent with seven players coming from British Columbia with the other five representing Ontario. Canada arrived in Vichy Monday.

“We are well into the Tokyo 2020 quad cycle and this tournament is an opportunity for us to identify possible future Olympians,” Fiorino said. “We will use this tournament to evaluate and to possibly fill spots in our centralized group here in Victoria.

"Our goal is to continue to search for the next future Olympians and leave no stone unturned.”

The tournament runs September 10-11. For more information, please click here.

Canada’s Women’s U18 Sevens Squad for the European Championships (Name, club, hometown):

Olivia Apps (Aurora Barbarians), Lindsay, ON
Brooke Bazian (South Kamloops Secondary School), Kamloops, BC
Khadija Brouilette (Balmy Beach RFC), Scarborough, ON
Caroline Crossley (Castaway Wanderers), Victoria, BC
Sophie De Goede (Castaway Wanderers), Victoria, BC
Daniella Grant (Aurora Barbarians), Stouffville, ON
Niamh Haughey (Toronto Saracens), Scarborough, ON
Taylor Hurd (Oakville Crusaders), Oakville, ON
Tausani Levale (Abbotsford RFC), Abbotsford, BC
Rachel McCallan (Ottawa Irish), Ottawa, ON
Denise Roy (Brentwood College), Cowichan, BC
Tia Svoboda (Belleville Bulldogs), Belleville, ON

Non-Travelling Reserves

Sophia Belsher (Abbotsford RFC), Abbotsford, BC
Talia Hoffman (Stoney Creek Camels), Stoney Creek, ON
Kyra Maybee (Peterborough Pagans), Peterborough, ON
Shoshanah Seumanutafa (Bayside Sharks RFC), Surrey, BC

Coaching Staff:

Head Coach: Sandro Fiorino
Assistant Coach: Ian Fitzgerald
Medical: Allison Rodway
S&C Coach: Dana Agar-Newman

Canada's Day 1 Schedule:

Canada vs. Portugal — 6:42am ET/3:42am PT
Canada vs. Netherlands — 10am ET/7am PT
Canada vs. France —1:40pm ET/10:40am PT

from The Rugby Breakdown

The Girls High School All-Americans (GHSAAs), Powered by Atavus, are en route to Vichy, France, to compete in the European U18 7s championship this weekend, Sept. 10-11. The USA and Canada are considered “special guests” in this 16-team tournament, which is by far the biggest stage on which the GHSAAs have ever participated.

Four pools of four teams will contest their respective pool matches on Saturday, and then knockouts will follow on day two. Initially, China was slated to attend but has since withdrawn, and Romagnat has filled the vacancy:

Pool A: England, Italy, Ukraine, Romagnat
Pool B: Spain, Wales, Sweden, Andorra
Pool C: Germany, Ireland, Russia, USA
Pool D: Portugal, Netherlands, France, Canada

While the pool play schedule has been published (click here), the kickoff times and the knockout schedule have not been released. However, Saturday’s live-stream will begin at 10:19 a.m. CEST on Saturday, the equivalent of 4:19 a.m. Eastern and 1:19 a.m. Pacific; and 9:50 a.m. CEST (3:50 a.m. EDT / 12:50 a.m. PDT) on Sunday. Stay abreast of changes by checking the following live-stream links for schedule updates:

Day 1 stream: http://www.rugbyeurope.tv/en/content/rugby-europe-womens-u18-sevens-championship-vichy-2016-day-1

Day 2 stream: http://www.rugbyeurope.tv/en/content/rugby-europe-womens-u18-sevens-championship-vichy-2016-day-2

Girls’ High School All-American 7s

Sui A’au – Grant, Ore.
Cassidy Bargell – Summit, Colo.
Kayla Canett – Fallbrook, Calif.
Lilly Durbin – Fallbrook, Calif.
Kathleen Gearhart – Penn, Ind.
Renee Gonzalez – Armstrong, Minn.
Lolohea Makaafi – Kent, Wash.
Daisy Manoa – Danville, Calif.
Julia Riekena – Missoula, Mont.
Alex Sedrick – Herriman, Utah
Kat Stowers – United, Utah
Nia Toliver – ICEF, Calif.

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports