Vancouver Rugby Festival 2017

March 10 2017

Maple Leafs Win Gold, Wolfpack Silver and Thunder Bronze in Men's Elite


posted March 10 2017

The Maple Leafs were the class of the field and won all their matches including the final over Wolfpack. The Thunder Aboriginal team came 3rd defeating UBCOB Ravens in the bronze medal match. The Thunder lost the pool match to the Ravens by 2 points and would have been in the Gold medal final if they had won that game. They won the rematch however for 3rd place.

Maple Leaf - Gold


Thunder - Bronze




Wolfpack and Maple Leafs Only Undefeated Sides After Day 1 in Men's Elite Tournament


posted March 9 2017
[ed. comments below]

Maple Leafs and Wolfpack are the only undefeated sides after Day 1 of the men's Elite tournament. Last year Wolfpack won the tournament and it may come down to a final match between the two this year again. Ravens only have one loss while Thunder, BC and Fiji have two losses. Stars rugby are 0-3 after Day 1.


In the Women's Division the Maple Leafs are dominant defeating USA and South Africa.

from Rugby Canada

Canada's Maple Leafs got off to a winning start on Day 1 of the Vancouver Rugby Festival.

Canada's women's team beat the USA Falcons 29-5 in their tournament opener as Julia Greenshields, Charity Williams, Emma Chown, Nakisa Levale and Sara Kaljuvee all scored. Canada moved to 2-0 after a 14-5 win over South Africa's Women's Selects as Williams and Caroline Crossley scored. They concluded the day with a 34-0 win over Stars Rugby behind tries from Pamphinette Buisa, Levale, Greenshields, Williams, Crossley and Sophie de Goede.

The men beat Thunder Rugby 26-5 on the back of tries from Riley DiNardo, Andrew Battaglia and Jake Lan (2) to open their campaign. In their second game, Canada beat Stars Rugby 34-0 as Andrew Coe (2), Karsten Leitner, Theo Sauder, Alex Colborne and Battaglia all scored tries. The Maple Leafs closed out the day with a narrow 12-5 win over the Wolf Pack with Leitner and Lan grabbing the tries.

The tournament is taking place at UBC and admission is free.

Maple Leafs Vancouver Rugby Festival Women’s Roster (Name, club, hometown)

Pamphinette Buisa, Ottawa Irish (Gatineau, QC)
Caroline Crossley, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Emma Chown, Kingston Panthers (Barrie, ON)
Sophie De Goede, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Julia Greenshields, Sarnia Saints (Sarnia, ON)
Sara Kaljuvee, Toronto Scottish RFC (Ajax, ON)
Nakisa Levale, Abbotsford Griffins (Abbotsford, BC)
Megan Lukan, Unattached (Barrie, ON)
Breanne Nicholas, London St. George RFC (Blenheim, ON)
Ashley Steacy, Lethbridge Rugby Club (Lethbridge, AB)
Charity Williams, Markham Irish (Toronto, ON)

Day 1 Women’s Maple Leafs Schedule:

Maple Leafs 29-5 USA Falcons
Maple Leafs 14-5 SA Women’s Select
Maple Leafs 34-0 Stars Rugby

Day 2 Women’s Maple Leafs Schedule:

Maple Leafs vs. USA Falcons — 1:34pm ET/10:34am PT
Maple Leafs vs. SA Women’s Select — 3:24pm ET/12:24pm PT
Maple Leafs vs. Stars Rugby — 6:45pm ET/3:45pm PT

Maple Leafs Vancouver Rugby Festival Men’s Roster (Name, club, hometown):

Andrew Battaglia, Aurora Barbarians (Richmond Hill, ON)
Andrew Coe, UBC (Markham, ON)
Alex Colborne, Queen’s University
David Dinbandhu, Brit Lions RFC, (Suva, Fiji)
Riley Di Nardo, Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)
Aaron Hersant, UVic Vikes (Victoria, BC)
Kyle Lagasca, Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)
Jake Lan, UBC
Karsten Leitner, UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Aidan McMullan, Montreal, QC
Josiah Morra, Toronto Saracens (Toronto, ON)
Jordan Nicholls, UVic Vikes
Theo Sauder, UBC (Vancouver, BC)

Day 1 Men’s Maple Leafs Schedule:

Maple Leafs 26-5 Thunder Rugby
Maple Leafs 34-0 Stars Rugby
Maple Leafs 12-5 Wolf Pack

Day 2 Men’s Maple Leafs Schedule:

Maple Leafs vs. UBCOB Ravens — 12:50pm ET/9:50am PT
Maple Leafs vs. Fiji Blond — 2:18pm ET/11:18am PT
Maple Leafs vs. BC Rugby — 5:02pm ET/2:02pm PT



Vancouver Rugby Festival March 9th & 10th - Which Teams Are Entered: Registration Closes Friday


posted Feb 13 2017
[ed. comments below]

The Vancouver Rugby Festival enters its second year, it's not as popular as the associated Vegas tournament, the Invitational, but it seems to have attracted more high profile teams this year. In particular the Fijian team Daveta have been mentioned and they won the World Club 7s tournament in Limerick in 2014. They would go in as favourites to take the Elite title and the prize money.

Latest news we're hearing though is they may be facing travel difficulties and may not appear at the tournament. Stay tuned for updates.




2014 World Club 7s Final - Daveta (Fiji) vs Bears (Canada)


In the Open Division there are still spots open, registration closes on Friday Feb 17th.

We don't have the full list yet but here are some of the teams entered, plus there will be local club sides such as Capilano and Ravens taking part, likely in the Open divisions.

Elite Women:
Canada Maple Leafs
South Africa Rugby
USA Falcons
Stars Rugby

Elite Men:
Daveta (tentative)
Prairie Wolfpack
Fiji Blonde
Thunder Rugby
Stars Rugby
Maple Leafs

Age-Grade (travelling teams)
Edmonton Gold
Calgary Irish
Tahi Kaha All-Stars (NZ Based)
Washington Loggers
Warwick Academy (Bermuda)

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports