Canada U18 7s - May 2019

May 15 2019


Canada U18 7s at World School 7s 2018
©

Canada v USA U18 7s Series in July at Fletcher's Field - Canada East and West Teams Announced: We look at the 2017 and 2018 U18 Teams, Where are They Now



Head coach Nigel D'Acre has named two U18 squads to face USA squads in July at Fletcher's Field in Markham. The matches will be streamed by Rugby Ontario. The Canada teams are called Canada Red and White but on closer examination seem to be a Canada East and West team and even more specifically a Ontario and BC team.

Canada Red are all from Ontario except one player from Quebec and Canada White are all BC except one player from Alberta. Canada White does have a NFLD player playing rugby at Shawnigan Lake. The regional clustering is not necessarily a bad thing as the logistics of training are simplified.

The coaching staff remains the same from last tournament when the U18 team went to the World School 7s in NZ. Previous to that Robin MacDowell and Freddy Asselin were looking after the U18 and MacDowell was at the helm when the U18 qualified for the Youth Olympics at Vegas 2018 (subsequently to be revoked due to country quota system at Youth Olympics).

It made us wonder about the Canada U18 7s players from 2017 and 2018 where are they now? The team lists are below. It could be said the U18 7s team has morphed into the Canada U20 XVs backline. Jarvis Dashkewytch, Thomas Isherwood, Lachlan Kratz, David Richard, Reece Tudor-Jones, Brock Webster all figure heavily in the Canada U20 XVs and four of them started in the 10 to 14 positions in the recent tour to Portugal. Still there are a lot of names unaccounted for, feel free to use the comment section to provide updates.

March 2018 Canada U18 Men 7s for Youth Olympic qualifier in Vegas

1. Josh Barss - Ontario
2. Braden Bruce - Ontario
3. Glenn Butler - Ontario
4. Jarvis Dashkewytch – British Columbia
5. Kaleb Delaney - Ontario
6. Thomas Isherwood - Alberta
7. Lachlan Kratz – British Columbia
8. Liam McLaughlin - Ontario
9. David Richard - Ontario
10. Jack Shaw - Ontario
11. Reece Tudor-Jones – British Columbia
12. Brock Webster - Ontario

Coaches: Robin MacDowell, Fred Asselin and Nanyak Dala

Dec 2017 Canada U18 7s team that went to Auckland School 7s

Juma Amisi, Strathcona Druids (Edmonton, AB)
Jarvis Dashkewytch, Castaway Wanderers (Tsawwassen, BC)
Kaleb Delaney, Oakville Crusaders (Oakville, ON)
Lachlan Kratz, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Sherwin Phillips, Sir Wifred Laurier Collegiate (Toronto, ON)
Austin Pinnell, Nor’westers (Edmonton, AB)
EJ Rerri, Oakville Crusaders (Oakville, ON)
Jack Shaw, Oakville Crusaders (Oakville, ON)
Henry Stevenson, Toronto Nomads (Toronto, ON)
Reece Tudor-Jones, Cowichan RFC (Victoria, BC)
Bobby Turley, Balmy Beach RFC (Toronto, ON)
Brock Webster, Oshawa (Uxbridge, ON)

Head Coach: Fred Asselin

from Rugby Canada

ROSTER SET FOR THE MEN'S U18 SEVENS CAN-AM THIS JULY

Canada's Under-18 men’s sevens team head coach Nigel D’Acre has announced the squads for the upcoming Can-Am Sevens Tournament at Fletcher’s Field in Markham, Ontario on July 11-13.

The two 12-man squads have been selected following the recent U18 San Diego Tour, Las Vegas, and Tropical 7s tournaments which featured over 200 different U18 Canadian Male Athletes who were proudly representing their schools, clubs, academies or provincial teams as well as other competitions around the country

"We are extremely excited to have a true U18 Men’s 7s development camp to help further the development of these rugby players. Last year we had success at the World School 7s capturing the Bowl Title beating Tonga in the final, but this year we are aiming high. This series is our first step." said D’Acre.

This tournament run alongside the Great North 7s which will feature up to 60 teams from across Canada and the USA. Fletcher’s Field is located IN Markham, Ontario and will host all the matches between Canada Red/White and USA Stars/Stripes.

"The challenge faced in Canada and the USA is giving our players meaningful competition at an affordable price to the players. Competitions such as this is a great progression for the athletes in their development. I’d like to thank JD Stephenson [High Performance Manager of USA Rugby] for getting this event off the ground," added D’Acre

“We are delighted that the program will be headed by Nigel D’Acre and is once again an opportunity for the selected players to operate at a high level. This 7s competition as well as the XV’s event on the west coast will compliment each other as we look to identify the best 40 players at this age group in the country," said Gethin Watts, Performance Director for Age Grade Rugby.

"We have been working hard with our provincial partners to be more efficient in our identification and development of rugby players that will one day allow us to provide an oversupply of 7s and XV’s players for our international teams.”

All Games will be streamed LIVE at: Rugby Ontario YouTube Page

Canada’s Red Squad:

Kyle Corrigan- Ottawa Ospreys- Ottawa, ON
Dylan Di Girolamo- Aurora Barbarians- Kettleby, ON
Cole Hutt- Ottawa Irish- Metcalfe, ON
Jacob Ince- Crusaders Rugby Club- Oakville, ON
Ian Jones- Oshawa Vikings- Brooklin, ON
Adrian Liepmann- Bytown Blues – Ottawa, ON
Philippe Marchand- Irish Montréal Rugby Football Club- LaSalle, QC
Duncan Phillips- Ottawa Irish- Nepean, ON
Nash Ramsay- Stoney Creek- Stoney Creek, ON
Kal Sager - Peterborough Pagans- Peterborough, ON
Harry Shaw- Crusaders Rugby Club- Oakville, ON
Lucas VanderBurg- Aurora Barbarians- Mount Albert, ON

Canada’s White Squad:

Max Abercrombie- Castaway Wanderers- Victoria, BC
Matthew Amyotte- Strathcona Druids- Edmonton, AB
Callum Blake-Currier- Cowichan Rugby Club- Mill Bay, BC
Jamin Hodgkins- Shawnigan Lake School- St. John’s NFLD
Nathan Holm- Burnaby Lake- Vancouver, BC
Torren Kaiser- Cowichan Rugby Club- Mill Bay, BC
Thomas Kirkwood- UBCOB Ravens- Vancouver, BC
Josiah Levale- Abbotsford RFC- Abbotsford, BC
Takoda McMullin- Earl Marriott Secondary- Surrey, BC
Ethan Turner- Abbotsford RFC- Abbotsford, BC
David Wegert- RE Mountain Secondary- Langley City, BC
Relmu Wilson-Valdes- L.V Rogers Secondary- Nelson, BC

Non Travel Reserve

Armand Pienaar- Oshawa Vikings RFC- Stouffville, ON

U18 Can/Am 7s Series at Great North 7s/Fletcher’s Field

Thursday, July 11

5:00PM ET/ 2:00PM PT- Canada White vs USA Stars
5:22PM ET/ 2:22PM PT- Canada Red vs USA Stripes

Friday, July 12

10:12AM ET/ 7:12AM PT- USA Stripes vs USA Stars
10:34AM ET/ 7:34AM PT- Canada White vs Canada Red
12:46PM ET/ 9:46AM PT- Canada Red vs USA Stars
1:08PM ET/ 10:08AM PT- Canada White vs USA Stripes
3:20PM ET/ 12:20PM PT- USA #1 vs Canada #2
3:42PM ET/ 12:42PM PT- Canada #1 vs USA #2

Saturday, July 13

11:18AM ET/ 8:18AM PT- Plate Finals
11:40AM ET/ 8:40AM PT- Can/AM Cup Finals

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports