BC Rugby Hall of Fame 2020

January 09 2020

BC Rugby Hall of Fame

BC Rugby Hall of Fame Dinner on Saturday: Inductees Mike James, Bobby Ross, Ian MacLean and Pat Palmer

[ed. the event might be sold out but you can direct inquiries to Brynna Walker – bwalker@bcrugby.com]

from BCRU

Along with welcoming the Class of 2020 into the Hall of Fame, the evening will feature a dinner and a raffle. Taking place on Saturday, January 11, 2020, at St. George’s Senior School, Vancouver, the event will be a celebration of the contributions from our distinguished inductees.

The Class of 2020 includes two stars of multiple Rugby World Cups, a player and coach who has helped inspire club, high school and national teams and former player who has committed the over 40 years of voluntary support to club and community. We invite you to join us in congratulating the 2020 BC Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Mike James – Player
Ian MacLean – Builder
Pat Palmer – Builder
Bobby Ross – Player

Two further awards will also be presented on the night, the Joan Spray Award and Jack Patterson Memorial Trophy. The Joan Spray Award is presented annually to a female member of the BC Rugby community who through volunteering, has exhibited dedication and a lifelong contribution to the sport. The Jack Patterson Memorial Trophy, first presented in 1964, is intended to pay tribute to an administrative member of the B.C. Rugby fraternity for their contribution to rugby in British Columbia. The recipients for these awards in 2020 are:

Jen Ross – Joan Spray Award
Jas Purewal – Jack Patterson Memorial Trophy

Finally, the evening will be an opportunity for the BC Rugby community to wish a fond farewell to Louise Wheeler, who is stepping down from the organisation at the end of 2019. Louise has been an integral part of BC Rugby for over 15 years, supporting players and clubs year-round in administration and member services. Anyone who would like to say their own farewells to Louise is encouraged to join us at the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

The BC Rugby Hall of Fame was established in 2005 to honour those individuals and teams who, through their commitment to excellence, left a profound legacy on the development of rugby in British Columbia. Over the past fourteen years, 46 individuals and two teams have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The Class of 2020 will be warmly welcomed into their company at the induction ceremony on January 11.

BC Rugby Hall of Fame website

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports