U20 Americas Rugby Championship - 2020

January 30 2020

Americas Rugby Championship 2018

Schedule for Inaugural U20 Americas Rugby Championship Announced June 10-18 in Uruguay

Canada U20 are preparing for their first tour together of this campaign as they will play Portugal on February 17 and 20th in Lisbon. It's all building up to the June 10th match vs USA in Uruguay. The winner of that match will go the JWRT in Spain in September.

The surprise this year in the Tier 2 JWRT is that Scotland will appear as the relegated team from the Tier 1 Junior World Championship. Confirmed so far for the JWRT are Spain, Hong Kong, Scotland, Uruguay. Still to be determined North America, Europe and Oceania.

from Rugby Canada

MONTEVIDEO, URUGUAY (January 30, 2020) – Today, Rugby Americas, along with Sudamérica Rugby and the Uruguay Rugby Union announced that the inaugural Under-20 Men’s Americas Rugby Championship is set to take place June 10th to 18th at Estadio Charrúa in Montevideo.

The tournament comprises of six nations: Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Paraguay – who qualified through the recent Under-19 tournament in Uruguay – representing Sudamérica Rugby along with Canada and USA from Rugby Americas North.

Furthermore, North American rivals Canada and USA will have additional motivation at the tournament as their opening match will act as a one game playoff to decide who will compete at the 2020 Junior World Rugby Trophy in Spain in September.

In recent years the two sides have competed in a two-match series, however this year it’s winner-takes-all. The winning nation will join Uruguay as participants from the Americas; Argentina will once again compete at the Junior World Championship in Italy this June.

The U-20 ARC competition features three triple-header game days, with teams earning four points for a win, two for a draw and a potential for two bonus points by scoring four or more tries or losing by seven points or less. The team with the most tournament points through three rounds will be crowned the winner.

Number one ranked Argentina lead Pool A, alongside Canada (3) and Chile (5), while the hosts Uruguay (2) sit atop Pool B with USA (4) and Paraguay (6).

The senior Americas Rugby Championship, which features national teams of Canada, USA, Uruguay, Brazil and Chile, along with Argentina “XV”, was created in 2016 as an opportunity to provide the Americas countries with an annual high-level competition to further development.

The competition, which is entering its fifth year in 2020 when it kicks off in August, has proved invaluable for reaching new audiences across owned and earned media channels and provided significant test match opportunities for Canada, USA, Uruguay and Argentina ahead of the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan. Argentina XV and USA have each lifted the Championship trophy on two occasions.

It’s a busy year for rugby throughout the Americas, with the third season of Major League Rugby getting underway in less than 10 days, and the inaugural season of the Súperliga Americana de Rugby kicks off on March 4th, boosting professional competition across South America.

Sebastian Piñeyrua , Sudamérica Rugby President

“For a few years we have been working together with Rugby Americas. In both the north and the south of the continent, we are aligned with our goals and opportunities. We have to fight so that our players find in their unions the possibility of developing and being successful in their future. We still have many challenges together and we are united as a contingent to go after them.”

Pablo Ferrrari, Rugby Uruguay President:

“For Uruguay, it is a great honor to receive the first Americas Rugby Championship U20. Not only because it will remain in history for being the first and having the possibility of being the host country, but because it confirms once again the confidence of World Rugby, and in this case Rugby Americas, in our country as an organizer of major events.

The arrival of the Americas Rugby Championship U20 means a quality leap for the selected youth in terms of annual competition and will undoubtedly be a determining factor to continue developing more and better players.”

Dan Payne, Rugby Americas Chief Executive Officer:

“We’re excited to launch the first-ever Under-20 Men’s Americas Rugby Championship in Montevideo, Uruguay. There’s been a lot of hard work over the last two years to make this tournament happen and we’re thankful for Uruguay Rugby leading as hosts.

“By providing high quality and meaningful competition, this tournament underpins the senior Americas Rugby Championship with youth development in line with how the U-20 Americas Rugby Challenge feeds its senior tournament.

“With all four of our key competitions – the Senior and Under-20 ARC and ARCh – linked through promotion and relegation, there is a competitive pathway across both North and South America that will fuel continued development.”

2020 Under-20 Americas Rugby Championship Schedule:

June 10th, 2020 – Round 1
Argentina v Paraguay
Uruguay v Chile
USA v Canada (Match also serves as qualifier for Junior World Rugby Trophy)

June 14th, 2020 – Round 2
USA v Argentina
Uruguay v Canada
Paraguay v Chile

June 18th, 2020 – Round 3
Argentina v Uruguay
USA v Chile
Paraguay v Canada

Kick off times and live stream information will be announced closer to the tournament.

Pemberton Holmes
Real Estate Sales

Tom Woods' Listings
Heritage House Trophies
Lionheart Sports