Canada vs Australia – Pacific Four 2024

Canadian Forwards  Power Team to Victory Over Australia Wallaroos – Five Tries by Front Row

The starting front row scored all of Canada’s tries in a display of forwards power. The win puts Canada at 2-0 on the series and guarantees them a place in the WXV1 they are hosting later this year.

Scorers: Sara Cline (2T), Mckinley Hunt (2T), DaLeaka Menin (1T), Sophie de Goede (4C)

Even though the forwards were on their game, the backline are going to have to up their game in order to compete against NZ, their next opponent. Outside of the forwards, Olivia Apps at scrum half had an outstanding match.

Canada’s 1st try

from Rugby Canada

Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team took a 33-14 win over the Australia Wallaroos in their second match of the 2024 Pacific Four Series on Saturday in Sydney, with a strong showing from Canada’s front row and two-try performances for Sara Cline and McKinley Hunt.

The Canadian victory moves them above France into third place in the world rankings and secured Canada’s spot in WXV 1 later this year, which is being hosted on home soil in Vancouver.

Cline opened the scoring for Canada off a maul with her first try of her international career, which was converted by Sophie de Goede. Canada scored a second try in similar fashion to go up 12-0, this time from Hunt.

The Wallaroos responded in the 13th minute, but their try was waived off due to a knock on. They successfully got on the board in the 20th minute however, cutting Canada’s lead to 12-7.

Canada scored once more in the first half, with Cline striking for a second time off a rolling maul, once again converted by de Goede to give Canada a 19-7 lead after 40 minutes of play.

With an exceptional performance by Canada’s forward pack, Hunt scored her second try in the opening minutes of the second half, with another conversion from de Goede.

“If you give our forwards space around the breakdown, they are going to take it,” said Head Coach Kevin Rouet. “I am very proud of our maul and scrumming ability in Canada. It is important for us to showcase that against any of our opponents. I am very happy with how our whole team played today.”

Australia seemed to gain some momentum in the 47th minute, with a penalty try awarded to the Wallaroos and a yellow card to Canada’s Madison Grant. Canada continued to defend and extend their lead despite being down a player, with DaLeaka Menin charging between the posts to add five for Canada, de Goede’s fourth conversion of the game gave Canada a 33-14 lead.

Julia Schell and de Goede both had prime scoring chances in the final minutes, but Australia held them up prior to the final whistle.

“Our backs played well today too,” commented de Goede. “They set up the forwards in areas of the pitch to go ahead and score. It was a full team effort today.”

Canadian rugby fans can watch an encore broadcast of the match against Australia on TSN1 at 10:00am PT/1:00pm ET.

Canada’s final Pacific Four Series match will be against New Zealand on Saturday May 18 at 9:35pm PT/Sunday May 19 at 12:35am ET (4:35pm local time). The match will be streamed live on TSN+ with encore broadcasts on TSN2 at 5:00am PT/8:00am ET and TSN1 at 2:30pm PT/5:30pm ET.

Canada Announce Roster for Australia Match: Kickoff 11:55pm PT on Friday Evening

There are only a few changes to the roster that defeated USA twelve days ago. McKinley Hunt comes off the bench to start at loosehead prop, Brittany Kassil is the backup, Olivia DeMerchant isn’t in the roster for this match. Fancy Bermudez gets the start at outside centre with Shoshanah Seumanutafa moving to the reserves. Sarah-Maude Lachance starts at fullback in place of Sabrina Poulin. Fabiola Forteza replaces Julia Omokhuale as the reserve flanker.

from Rugby Canada

Head coach of Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team, Kevin Rouet, has selected the roster that will face Australia in Canada’s second match of the 2024 Pacific Four Series.

Canada and the Wallaroos will meet at Allianz Stadium in Sydney, Australia on Saturday May 11 at 11:55pm PT (May 10)/2:55am ET (4:55pm local time). Last year, Canada took advantage of playing at home, defeating the Australians 45-7 at TD Place Stadium in Ottawa in the 2023 rendition of the Pacific Four Series.

“The team is excited for the opportunity to test themselves against another one of the top teams in the world and build off of our strong performance against the USA last week” said Rouet. “Facing Australia on their home field in Sydney poses some unique challenges, but the team has prepared well this week and will be ready to go on Saturday.”

Alexandra Tessier is set to earn her 50th cap on Saturday against Australia to become just the eighth woman in Canadian rugby history to achieve this milestone. After being named to the starting 15, Tyson Beukeboom is in line to tie Gillian Florence as Canada’s all-time women’s caps leader with 67.

There are only a few changes to the Canadian lineup from the game against the USA, as Sarah-Maude Lachance draws in and will start at fullback for her first international match of 2024. Lachance wore the number 15 jersey last fall in Canada’s victory over France at WXV.

McKinley Hunt and Fancy Bermudez will also start the match for Canada after coming off the bench against the USA. Prop Brittany Kassil could see her first game action of the year, being named to the roster as a reserve.

More information on the Pacific Four Series, including the full schedule and results, can be found on the official website for World Rugby.


Canada vs Australia will be streamed live on TSN+ on Saturday May 11 at 11:55pm PT (May 10)/2:55am ET with an encore broadcast on TSN1 on Saturday May 11 at 10:00am PT/1:00 pm ET.

TSN+ is the stand-alone digital streaming service from Canada’s Sports Leader and is home to an extensive slate of live sports coverage from around the world, including Rugby Canada matches. For more information on TSN+, including subscription options, visit


1. McKinley Hunt (King City, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Saracens
2. Sara Cline (Edmonton, AB) – Leprechaun Tigers / Western Force
3. DaLeaka Menin (Vulcan, AB) – Exeter Chiefs
4. Tyson Beukeboom (Uxbridge, ON) – Cowichan RFC / Ealing Trailfinders
5. Laetitia Royer (Loretteville, QC) – St-Anne-de-Bellevue / ASM Romagnat
6. Pamphinette Buisa (Gatineau, QC) – Ottawa Irish
7. Sophie de Goede (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers RFC / Saracens
8. Gabrielle Senft (Regina, SK) – Castaway Wanderers / Stade Bordelais
9. Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC
10. Claire Gallagher (Caledon, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Leicester Tigers
11. Paige Farries (Red Deer, AB) – Westshore RFC / Saracens
12. Alexandra Tessier (Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC / Exeter Chiefs
13. Fancy Bermudez (Edmonton, AB) – NorWesters Athletic Associations / Westshore RFC
14. Madison Grant (Cornwall, ON) – Cornwall Claymores
15. Sarah-Maude Lachance (Victoriaville, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais


16. Emily Tuttosi (Souris, MB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs
17. Brittany Kassil (Guelph, ON) – Guelph RFC
18. Alexandria Ellis (Ottawa, ON) – Barrhaven Scottish / Stade Français Paris
19. Courtney Holtkamp (Rimbey, AB) – Red Deer Titans Rugby
20. Fabiola Forteza (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
21. Justine Pelletier (Rivière-du-Loup, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
22. Julia Schell (Uxbridge, ON) – Guelph RFC / Castaway Wanderers / Ealing Trailfinders
23. Shoshanah Seumanutafa (White Rock, BC) – University of British Columbia / Chiefs Manawa

Posted in Front Page, National Women's XVs.