Rugby Canada AGM 2021

Rugby Canada AGM and Financials Posted: Two New Directors Added, One Director Resigns

The Rugby Canada AGM recently took place, the financials and annual report are listed below along with the Rugby Canada media release.

There are two new Directors, Lauren Wolman (Toronto, ON) and Sandy Donald (Brandon, MB). Bill Webb of the Toronto Arrows resigned.

There’s not a lot to say, it was an Olympic year so $5 million came from Sports Canada, the largest contributor. $2 million came from World Rugby. Those two entities provide almost two-thirds of the Rugby Canada budget. All eyes will be on those figures next year as the men’s XVs didn’t qualify for the World Cup and the women’s 7s weren’t in the Olympic medal hunt, both factors likely to affect funding.

Financial Report

Annual Report

from Rugby Canada

Rugby Canada held the fiscal 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in-person on Sunday, May 15 at the Delta Hotel in Winnipeg. This was the first time the AGM was held in Manitoba since 2004. In the days leading up to the formal AGM, close to 30 Rugby Canada representatives, the Board of Directors, the Provincial Unions and World Rugby gathered in-person and remotely for two days to discuss topics related to finance, Rugby Canada and World Rugby operations, risk management, alignment and planning between Rugby Canada and the provincial unions as well as national competitions. The group also conducted a day-long session with a facilitator to explore the issues, priorities and actions required to move our game forward in Canada pertaining to the ongoing high-performance review.

The following items were presented or voted upon at the formal AGM:

Territorial Land Acknowledgement

The Annual General Meeting began with a territorial land acknowledgement, recognizing both the traditional lands on which the formal meeting was held and the lands on which rugby is played across Canada. From coast-to-coast our game is played on the ancestral and unceded territories of the Inuit, Metis and First Nations peoples. The working sessions and AGM in Winnipeg were held on Treaty One lands, the original territories of the Anishinaabe, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, Lakota, Dene peoples, and the homeland of the Red River Métis. Rugby Canada proudly acknowledges our role in the many relationships that make up our home and are committed to a spirit of reconciliation for the future.

In Memoriam

There was an acknowledgement of honoured members who were lost in 2021 in recognition of their contributions to rugby in Canada:

Pearse Higgins (Rugby Canada)
Kim Wilson-McCreath (Rugby Canada)
Steven Taylor (Rugby Alberta)
Gary MacDonald (Rugby Manitoba)
Colin Gibbs (Rugby Manitoba)
Brock Marshall (Rugby Ontario)
Jason Oates (Rugby Ontario)
Liam Geddes (Rugby Ontario)
Keith Wilkinson (Rugby Quebec)
Tom and Ada Jacobs (Newfoundland & Labrador Rugby Union)

Elections to the Board of Directors for Rugby Canada

Rugby Canada welcomed two new directors that were elected through the updated nomination process and procedure. Lauren Wolman (Toronto, ON) and Sandy Donald (Brandon, MB) join the Board as Directors for 3-year terms effective May 15, 2022.

In addition, Bill Webb (Toronto, ON) announced his resignation from the Rugby Canada Board of Directors. Bill will continue in his role as majority owner of the Toronto Arrows and remains a key supporter of rugby in Canada.

The Rugby Canada Board of Directors for 2022/23 consists of:

Sally Dennis (Chair)
Maria Samson (Vice-Chair)
Steve Swaffield (Treasurer & Finance/Audit Committee Chair)
David Fortier (Director & HR Committee Chair)
Kathleen McGinn (Director & Governance Committee Chair)
Lauren Wolman (Director & Ethics and Integrity Committee Chair)
Jeff Hassler (Director)
Karen Paquin (Director)
Phil Otto (Director)
Sandy Donald (Director)

The Rugby Canada Board of Directors also confirmed the following Representatives will maintain their roles for 2022/23:

Dr. Araba Chintoh – Rugby Americas North Representative
Dr. Pat Parfrey – World Rugby Representative
Doug Campbell – Canadian Olympic Committee Representative
Special Recognitions

The following individuals were recognized for their contributions to rugby in Canada and their work as members of the Rugby Canada Board of Directors and Provincial Union leads:

Bill Webb (outgoing member of Board of Directors, Rugby Canada)

Annabel Kehoe (outgoing CEO, BC Rugby)

The 2021 audited financial statements and annual report have been posted to the Rugby Canada website for viewing.

Posted in Rugby Canada.