1991 Rugby World Cup Team

Rugby Canada Announces 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees: Throwback to BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction of 1991 World Cup Team in 2018 and 36 Page Tribute Booklet

Rugby Canada announced their selections for the 2022 Rugby Canada Hall of Fame, that media release is below. One of the their selections was the 1991 men’s World Cup team. That team was inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame in 2018 and for the occasion a 36 page tribute booklet was produced. We have a copy on our server in .pdf format – the link is posted below.

The booklet has player and coach profiles, match reports and comments from Mark Wyatt, Ian Birtwell and Mike Luke.

Production of this Tribute Booklet was a joint effort on the part of a number of individuals from and on behalf of the 1991 Canadian Rugby World Cup squad. They include Colin Brown, Al Charron, Liz Ferguson, Davie Graham, Ian Kennedy, Pemberton Holmes, Peter McMullan, John Moonlight, Doug Sturrock and Mark Wyatt.”


from Rugby Canada

Rugby Canada is pleased to announce the class of 2022 Hall of Fame Inductees. Seven Canadian rugby icons, including five players and two builders, and one outstanding team will have their legacy cemented in the Rugby Canada Hall of Fame.

Since the inaugural Class of 2016, the Rugby Canada Hall of Fame has recognized and welcomed the most dedicated and decorated members of Canada’s rugby community to its growing list.

The Rugby Canada Hall of Fame was established to honour and preserve rugby’s culture and heritage in Canada by recognizing the extraordinary achievements of rugby participants throughout our country.

“The tremendous Class of 2022 has had widespread impact on rugby in Canada,” said Mike Luke, Chair of the Hall of Fame Project Team. “We are excited to honour these seven individuals and the 1991 men’s Rugby World Cup team, and continue the tradition of recognizing members of the Canadian rugby community who have made significant contributions to our sport at the national and international levels.”

Inductees will be celebrated at the 2023 HSBC Canada Sevens on Sunday March 5. Tickets for the HSBC Canada Sevens can be purchased at canadasevens.com.

Please view a brief overview of the inductees below and click on the corresponding links to learn more about each inductee’s outstanding contributions to the sport of rugby in Canada.

George Gadjovich – Builder

Canada’s premier referee in the 1990s, George Gadjovich officiated over 1000 club, regional, provincial, national and international matches over an almost 20 year career. From 1991 to 1997 he refereed 14 international matches and three A/B international matches, including the Plate Final at the 1992 Hong Kong Sevens and the Bowl Final at the inaugural Rugby Cup Sevens in 1993.

Davie Graham – Builder

Also known as “McScrum”, Davie Graham was the owner and operator of the National Rugby Post, a newspaper distributed across Canada for 22 years that played an important role in improving communication and the exchange of information within the Canadian rugby community. Graham also played a role in establishing a number of rugby clubs in Alberta.

Gord MacKinnon – Player

Gord MacKinnon played for Canada’s Men’s Rugby Team from 1985 to 1995, competing in two Rugby World Cups and retiring with 28 caps. During his career he also played in various sevens tournaments, including the 1993 Rugby World Cup Sevens and the 1997 Rugby World Cup Sevens Qualifier.

Kelly McCallum – Player

A 16-time captain for Canada, Kelly McCallum was starting flyhalf at the 2002 and 2006 Rugby World Cups. The first-ever winner of the BCRU Women’s Player of the Year award, McCallum scored 100 points for Canada over her career. Rugby took her around the world, and she has played and/or coached in England, Australia, Japan and New Zealand.

Kelly Russell – Player

One of Canada’s most capped women’s rugby players, Kelly Russell earned 53 caps with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team over 11 years, captaining the team 34 times, scoring 60 points, and representing Canada at three Rugby World Cups (winning silver in 2014). She also had a storied career in the sevens game, winning Rugby World Cup Sevens silver in 2013, Pan American Games gold in 2015 and Olympic bronze in 2016.

Ryan Smith – Player

Selected to the 2003 Rugby World Cup roster in his first season with Canada’s Men’s Rugby Team, Ryan Smith went on to accumulate 51 international caps and compete at three Rugby World Cups. His success on the national team translated into professional contracts in New Zealand and in France. After retiring from playing, he played a pivotal leadership role with the Prairie Wolf Pack.

Sherri Sparling – Player

A natural athlete, Sherri Sparling earned her first cap for Canada just five years after starting the sport at the 1998 Rugby World Cup. She earned 19 caps, serving as captain for Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team’s first World Rugby win against the United States on home soil and at the 2002 Rugby World Cup.

1991 Men’s Rugby World Cup Team

Between 1989 and 1996, Canada’s Men’s Rugby Team won numerous international games, but it was at the 1991 Rugby World Cup in France that global recognition of and respect for Canada as a rugby nation was garnered. After wins over Fiji and Romania and a close loss to France, Canada met New Zealand in the quarter final. Despite a final loss of 29-13, the team had proven that Canada had become competitive within the uppermost level of international competition and put Canada on the rugby map.

Posted in Rugby Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *