High School Updates – May 2022

BC High School 7s Tournament Summary, Standings and Tournament Team Selections

by Adam Roberts

We’re Back! Fantastic weekend out in sunny White Rock which hosted the Junior and Senior Boys BC Open 7’s tournaments. The Shark Tank at South Surrey Athletic Park, home of the Bayside Sharks, was the host for the weekend. The new clubhouse is eagerly awaiting final occupancy from the city, so it kind of sits there, gorgeous, as a total tease for the viewer. It will play host to the BC Club Finals on May 7th, so this was a great dry run for the club. (A little background: During Covid the BC School Sports Membership had a vote, which passed, for BC School Sports to govern each sport. In the case of rugby basically removed BC Secondary Schools Rugby Union from governance. On April 20th the deadline was set for teams to declare for a 7’s or XV’s season. After the declaration teams could not play the opposite code with the exception of the BC Open 7’s tournament on April 29th/30th/ 1st )

Moreno Stefanon, literally put the High School 7’s scene on his back and started running with it. The guy is incredibly valuable to the development of the game in BC for the boys.

Thank you to all the schools for taking part in the tournament for the first time back after 3 years of no high school 7s. It was phenomenal to see the parity in all pool games, and for that to carry over to the playoff matches on Sunday. It sure made for some exciting rugby to watch!


Friday, April 29th, played host to the Junior Boys Rugby 7’s BC’s and saw 16 teams from around BC come and compete. The Junior 7’s was full of young talented players, full of compete. The tournament was led by St.George’s from start to finish they were clearly the class of the tournament, talented athletically throughout their lineup with the rugby skills and savvy to back it up.

1st St. George’s School
2nd Shawnigan Lake School
3rd Oak Bay

Plate Champions | Brentwood College
Bowl Champions | Claremont
Shield Champions | Lord Byng

Junior Boys All Tournament Team

Liam Turnball St. Georges
Naoh Merkur St. Georges
Evan Palmer St. Georges
Beck Paspalas St. Georges
Owen Barlow Shawnigan
Jackson Palmer Shawnigan
Keegan Lonsdale Shawnigan
Sam Blundell Brentwood
Inno De Cotiis Collingwood
Brek Ball Collingwood
Zivan Erdevicki Collingwood
Isaac Lynn Robert Bateman
Kale Goodman Salmon Arm
Max Ross Earl Marriott
Jackson Powell Oak Bay
Josh Keast Oak Bay


The St.George’s team in the Senior Division was victorious against a physical and athletic group from RE Mountain who gave every team fits at the breakdown.

Tier I Competition

1st St. George’s School
2nd R.E. Mountain
3rd Shawnigan Lake School

Plate Winners | Oak Bay

Tier II Competition

1st Windsor
2nd Robert Bateman
3rd Argyle

Plate Winners | R.A. McMath
Bowl Winners | Southridge

Senior Boys All Tournament Team Tier 1

Ben Greenstein St. Georges
Marco Mitchell St. Georges
Liam Platt St. Georges
Connor Gibbons RE Mountain
Donovan MacKenzie RE Mountain
Max Heward Shawnigan Lake
Connor Keys Shawnigan Lake
Zach Johnson Shawnigan Lake
Oliver Clarke Brentwood
Trekkar James Brentwood
Eli Carter Oak Bay

Senior Boys All Tournament Team Tier 2

Lenny Bonduau Windsor
Martino Cortigiani Windsor
Patrick May Windsor
Ryan Sullivan Robert Bateman
Liam Olafson Robert Bateman
Ben Brown Robert Bateman
Alansandro Scarpa Argyle
Keaton Pastille Argyle
Luca Redford St.Thomas More
Marco Divinsato St.Thomas More

Posted in Youth Rugby.