2024 Pacific Four Series

Canada Name 30 Players for Women’s 2024 Pacific Four Series – First Match April 28th vs USA

Canada embarks on their 2024 Pacific Four Series with matches against USA, Australia and NZ. The top 3 teams advance to the WXV 1 tournament which is being hosted in BC this year.

Comparing the team to the one that defeated France in the final round of WXV 1 2023 in November, only two players are missing. Krissy Scurfield and Florence Symonds, both 7s players, stay with the 7s program. There are 5 players from the 7s program who are on the squad which will impact the 7s team selection for Singapore.

from Rugby Canada

Head Coach Kevin Rouet has named Canada’s travelling roster for the upcoming Pacific Four Series, the team’s first competition of 2024.

The squad will convene in Langford for a training camp ahead of travelling to Los Angeles for the first match against the United States on April 28 at 1:30pm PT/4:30pm ET. Canada’s second match will be against Australia on May 11 at 12:05am PT/3:05am ET (5:05pm local time) in Sydney, with the team then travelling to Christchurch to take on reigning Rugby World Cup champions, the New Zealand Black Ferns, on Saturday May 18 at 9:35pm PT/Sunday May 19 12:35am ET (4:35pm local time on May 19).

Canada placed second in the 2023 Pacific Four Series, with wins over the United States and Australia and a loss to New Zealand in front of a record-breaking crowd in Ottawa. For the second year in a row, the Pacific Four Series will qualify teams for WXV, with the top three teams earning a spot in the top WXV tier, which is being hosted in Canada this fall.

“Since we hosted the Pacific Four Series in Ottawa last year, our team has continued to grow and develop with a very strong group of core players as we prepare to qualify for WXV and as we look forward to the 2025 Rugby World Cup,” said Rouet. “Many of our players have continued to play at a high level since we were last together for WXV in the fall, competing in Canada, internationally and on the HSBC SVNS Series. We are excited to be back together and to test ourselves in three matches against some of the top teams in the world in the Pacific Four Series.”

Olivia Apps, Fancy Bermudez, Pamphinette Buisa, Sabrina Poulin and team captain Sophie de Goede join the squad after representing Canada at the Cathay/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens last weekend.

With a total of three Pacific Four Series matches on deck, Tyson Beukeboom, who has 65 caps for Canada, has the potential to surpass Gillian Florence (67 caps) as the most capped women’s rugby player of all time. Olivia DeMerchant (57 caps), Alex Tessier (48 caps) and Brittany Kassil (38 caps) are all closing in on significant cap milestones for Canada as well.

Claire Gallagher and Sara Cline, who both earned their first caps for Canada during last year’s Pacific Four Series, have been named to the Canadian squad. Cassandra Tuffnail, Mahalia Robinson and Julia Omokhuale, who all earned their first caps in 2023 as well, have also been selected by Rouet.

More information on the Pacific Four Series, including scores and results, can be found on the official website at world.rugby/tournaments/pacific-four-series. Broadcast details for the Pacific Four Series will be announced shortly.

April 28: USA vs Canada (Los Angeles, CA) – TICKETS
May 11: Australia vs Canada (Sydney, Australia) – TICKETS
May 18: New Zealand vs Canada (Christchurch, New Zealand) – TICKETS



Alexandria Ellis (Ottawa, ON) – Barrhaven Scottish / Stade Français Paris
Brittany Kassil (Guelph, ON) – Guelph RFC
Cassandra Tuffnail (Heidelberg, ON) – Ealing Trailfinders
Courtney Holtkamp (Rimbey, AB) – Red Deer Titans Rugby
DaLeaka Menin (Vulcan, AB) – Exeter Chiefs
Emily Tuttosi (Souris, MB) – Calgary Hornets / Exeter Chiefs
Fabiola Forteza (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
Gabrielle Senft (Regina, SK) – Castaway Wanderers / Stade Bordelais
Gillian Boag (Calgary, AB) – Capilano RFC
Julia Omokhuale (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Irish Rugby Club / Leicester Tigers
Laetitia Royer (Loretteville, QC) – St-Anne-de-Bellevue / ASM Romagnat
McKinley Hunt (King City, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Saracens
Olivia DeMerchant (Mapledale, NB) – Halifax Tars RFC
Pamphinette Buisa (Gatineau, QC) – Ottawa Irish
Sara Cline (Edmonton, AB) – Leprechaun Tigers / Western Force
Sara Svoboda (Belleville, ON) – Brantford Harlequins / Belleville Bulldogs / Loughborough Lightning
Sophie de Goede (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers RFC / Saracens
Tyson Beukeboom (Uxbridge, ON) – Cowichan RFC / Ealing Trailfinders


Alexandra Tessier (Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC) – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC / Exeter Chiefs
Claire Gallagher (Caledon, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Leicester Tigers
Fancy Bermudez (Edmonton, AB) – NorWester Athletic Associations / Westshore RFC
Julia Schell (Uxbridge, ON) – Guelph RFC /Castaway Wanderers / Ealing Trailfinders
Justine Pelletier (Rivière-du-Loup, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
Madison Grant (Cornwall, ON) – Cornwall Claymores
Mahalia Robinson (Fulford, QC) – Town of Mount Royal RFC
Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC
Paige Farries (Red Deer, AB) – Westshore RFC / Saracens
Sabrina Poulin (St-Georges, QC) – Town of Mount Royal RFC
Sarah-Maude Lachance (Victoriaville, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
Shoshanah Seumanutafa (White Rock, BC) – University of British Columbia / Chiefs Manawa


Ashlynn Smith (Abbotsford, BC) – University of Calgary
Audrey Champagne (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Université Laval
Corinne Fréchette (Saint-Zéphirin-de-Courval, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Université Laval
Demi Swann (Georgetown, ON) – Exeter Chiefs
Eden Kilgour (Barrie, ON) – Westshore RFC / Aurora Barbarians
Emily Belchos (Innisfil, ON) – Castaway Wanderers
Emma Taylor (Scotsburn, NS) – Halifax RFC
Jordan McLeod (Rivers, MB) – Brandon Barbarians / University of British Columbia
Larah Wright (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Hornets RFC / University of Victoria
Lizzie Gibson (Caledon, ON) – Oakville Crusaders / Queen’s University
Magali Harvey (Quebec City, QC) – Club de rugby de Québec / Stade Bordelais
Maggie Mackinnon (Sooke, BC) – University of Victoria
Maya Montiel (Dieppe, NB) – University of Ottawa / Saracens
Mikiela Nelson (North Vancouver, BC) – Capilano RFC
Mya Brubacher (West Montrose, ON) – Kingston Panthers / Queen’s University
Rachel Smith (South Surrey, BC) – University of British Columbia
Rosalie Lepage (Quebec City, QC) – Université Laval
Taylor Perry (Oakville, ON) – Oakville Crusaders

Posted in Front Page, National Women's XVs.