BC Rugby News

BC Rugby Weekend of January 27th 2024

Weekend Results for January 27th in Men’s Div 1, 2, 3 and Women’s Premier/Div 1, Div 2 – Men’s Premier Restarts Next Weekend

The second half of the season recommenced this weekend with the exception of men’s Premier, that will restart next weekend. UBC lost a close game to CWU, 20-13, the game can be viewed here. Also in exhibition play the UVic Jutes defeated the Doug Tate Selects, 27-0, and that match can be viewed here.

In women’s Premier/Div 1, the top 6 teams will split to form the women’s Premier competition at the beginning of March so the race for a top 6 spot is heating up with only 2 weekends left. Currently the UBC Thunderbirds remain the only undefeated side in top spot, followed by Capilano, Seattle, Abbotsford, Westshore and CW.

In men’s Div 1 the Rowers remain undefeated with Abbotsford, Port Alberni and Bayside trailing.

The BCRU results page has a link to the tables for each league.

BCRU Results for January 27th

BC Rugby Kicks Off Second Half of Season in Women’s Div 1 & 2, Men’s Div 1, 2 & 3: Men’s Premier Returns Next Weekend

The men’s Premier returns next weekend but this weekend sees action in the other leagues. There are also a couple of exhibition matches of note, UBC travels to Washington State to take on CWU, that game will be live streamed. Also the Doug Tate Selects get their first taste of action against the UVic Jutes.

For a full list of fixtures visit the BCRU fixtures page.


CWU defeated UVic in a midweek match, now they host UBC on Saturday. Live stream is here.

UVic Jutes vs Doug Tate Selects

The Jutes take on a high school selects team on Saturday at 1pm, Wallace Field. See our article on the Doug Tate Selects for the roster. Match to be streamed on UVic Men’s Youtube channel.


1 Kale Jones
2 Carter Haddow
3 Brighton Feldman
4 Josh Petrov
5 Adam Todd
6 Luke Hamilton
7 Bodhi Scarborough
8 Sol Yeung
9 Lachlan Crooks
10 Jack Penaluna
11 Moe Norsten
12 Josh McIndoe
13 Spencer Cotie
14 Azeez Said
15 Morgan Di Nardo
16 Julian Gauld
17 Yahya El-Dakhakhny
18 Evan Kelly
20 Noah Kynaston (Pride)
21 Parker Anderson
22 Ty Driscoll (Pride)

Doug Tate Selects

1. Trav Dumbelton
2. Annan McAllistair
3. David Michell
4. Finn Gargan
5. Sebastian Isherwood
6. Robert Reid
7. Jaxson Weisbeck
8. Ewen Webber-Smith
9. Chris Rose
10. Nicholas Jonty
11. Ian Anderson-Teasdale
12. Mason Levin
13. Aidan Jones
14. Jackson Powell
15. Eli Palov
16. Sam McCucheon
17. Jake Lumley-Holmes
18. DJ Banks
19. Kalum Starchan
20. Owen Barlow
21. Michael Oughtred
22. Jackson Palmer
23. Jasper Keast


Posted in BC Rugby, Front Page.