Commonwealth Youth Games 2023

Canada Announce Teams for Commonwealth Youth Games in August: A Look Back at the 2017 Teams

The Commonwealth Youth Games were last held in 2017 in the Bahamas. The 2021 games were postponed due to COVID and are taking place this year in Tobago.

In 2017 the women won Silver, losing to Australia in the final. The men finished 4th with an upset of Fiji in the pool round but falling to Fiji in the Bronze match. Samoa won the men’s competition. Canada won 4 medals all together that year, 3 in athletics and the one in women’s rugby 7s.

Looking back at the 2017 team there are a number of players who continue to represent Canada at the senior level such as Sophie de Goede, Taylor Black, Olivia de Couvreur, Keyara Wardley, Tausani Levale. On the men’s team Lachlan Kratz, Jarvis Dashkewytch, David Richard, Brock Webster continue to represent at the national level.

The Rugby Canada media release below lists the current 2023 teams.

2017 Women’s Team

Taylor Black, Oakville Crusaders (Oakville, ON)
Khadija Brouillette, Balmy Beach (Scarborough, ON)
Samantha Cyrille, Unattached (Scarborough, ON)
Hannah Daniels, Aurora Barbarians (Sutton, ON)
Olivia de Couvreur, Ottawa Irish (Ottawa, ON)
Sophie de Goede, Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Brooklynn Feasby, Oshawa Vikings (Port Perry, ON)
Carmen Izyk, Okotoks Lions (Blackie, AB)
Aliesha Lewis, Guelph Red Coats (Guelph, ON)
Tausani Levale, Abbotsford RFC (Abbotsford, BC)
Denise Roy, Castaway Wanderers (Duncan, BC)
Keyara Wardley, Okotoks Lions (Vulcan, AB)

2017 Men’s Team

Corben Bowen (British Columbia)
Jarvis Dashkewytch (British Columbia)
Kaleb Delaney (Ontario)
Marcus Douglas (Alberta)
Lachlan Kratz (British Columbia)
Austin Pinnell (Alberta)
Avery Oitomen (Ontario)
EJ Rerri (Ontario)
David Richard (Ontario)
Reece Tudor-Jones (British Columbia)
Kevin Vertkas (Ontario)
Brock Webster (Ontario)

from Rugby Canada

Canada’s U18 women’s and men’s sevens rosters have been named for the Trinbago 2023 Commonwealth Youth Games, an international multi-sport event organized by the Commonwealth Games Federation that returns for its seventh edition over August 4-11 in Trinidad and Tobago.

The rugby sevens competition will feature six women’s and six men’s teams competing at Shaw Park Cultural Complex on Tobago from August 6 to 8. The finals will take place on August 8 following round robin play.

Canada is one of three countries sending both women’s and men’s teams, the others being Trinidad and Tobago and Fiji. The women’s competition will also include Wales, Kenya and Australia, while the men’s competition will also feature Jamaica, Scotland and South Africa.

“This is a group of eager, rugby-enthused players who are more than excited to be putting on the jersey and representing Canada in Trinidad and Tobago,” said Darcy Patterson, Head Coach of Canada’s Women’s Commonwealth Youth Games Team. “It will be the first time these players put on a Canada jersey and we hope to make it an incredible experience. There is a legacy of this program doing well at these Games and we are excited to put the work in to keeping that legacy alive.”

Selection for the women’s team was based on nominations from provincial unions, with trials that took place across Canada for the nominated players in advance of final selection. Canada’s men’s team was selected using the Coast to Coast identification process utilized by Rugby Canada’s U18 men’s 15s program this past year, as well as footage from invitational sevens tournaments.

“We’re excited and fortunate to have assembled this team to represent Canada at the 2023 Youth Commonwealth Games,” said Nigel D’Acre, Head Coach of Canada’s Men’s Commonwealth Youth Games Team. “This tournament has been a stepping stone for many current and former national sevens players, and will be a great experience and development opportunity for the entire squad.”

More information about the Trinbago 2023 Commonwealth Youth Games can be found here. Information on how to follow will be available at a later date.


Adia Pye (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers
Anya Prokopich (White Rock, BC) – Bayside RFC
Ava Ference (Shawnigan Lake, BC) – Cowichan RFC
Brooke Roddham (Langley, BC) – Langley RFC
Charlotte Hilton (Halifax, NS) – Halifax Tars
Elle Douglas (Saskatoon, SK) – MacDowell Rugby / Cowichan RFC
Kennedi Stevenson (Toronto, ON) – North Halton RFC
Kiki Odowu (Toronto, ON) – TIRF
Lana Dueck (Abbotsford, BC) – Abbotsford, RFC
Olivia Newsome (Calgary, AB) – University of Victoria
Sarah Schonfeld (Ottawa, ON) – Bytown Blues
Skye Farish (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers
Zina Umeh (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Mavericks

Canada vs Wales
August 6, 2023
6:22 a.m. PT / 9:22 a.m. ET

Canada vs Australia
August 6, 2023
11:06 a.m. PT / 2:06 p.m. ET

Canada vs Fiji
August 7, 2023
7:06 a.m. PT / 10:06 a.m. ET

Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago
August 7, 2023
11:50 a.m. PT / 2:50 p.m. ET

Canada vs Kenya
August 8, 2023
7:06 a.m. PT / 10:06 a.m. ET


Adam Doane (Sutton, ON) – Aurora Barbarians
Aiden Jones (Mill Bay, BC) – Salish Sea Warriors
Briar Barron (Holland Landing, ON) – Aurora Barbarians
Charles Squires (Stratford, UK) – Stratford Upon Avon RC
Jonty Nicholas (Shawnigan Lake, BC) – Salish Sea Warriors
Max Ross (Langley, BC) – Earl Marriott
Morgan Di Nardo (Toronto, ON) – Toronto City Rugby
Reece Thompson (Barrie, ON) – Barrie RFC
Sebastian Lambert (Denman Island, BC) – Comox Valley Kickers RFC
Spencer Cotie (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers
Stephen Webb (Toronto, ON) – Toronto City Rugby Club / Balmy Beach RFC / Crescent School
Ty Driscoll (Victoria, BC) – Castaway Wanderers
Tyge Harvey (Binbrook, ON) – Burlington Centaurs

Canada vs Scotland
August 6, 2023
6:00 a.m. PT / 9:00 a.m. ET

Canada vs Fiji
August 6, 2023
10:44 a.m. PT / 1:44 p.m. ET

Canada vs South Africa
August 7, 2023
6:44 a.m. PT / 9:44 a.m. ET

Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago
August 7, 2023
11:28 a.m. PT / 2:28 p.m. ET

Canada vs Jamaica
August 8, 2023
6:44 a.m. PT / 9:44 a.m. ET

Posted in Youth Rugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *