Hong Kong 7s Women – 2023

Canada Name Women’s Team for Hong Kong 7s

The women only have two tournaments left, Hong Kong in a week’s time and Toulouse in May. Canada won’t make the top 4 for automatic Olympic qualification, they’re currently in 8th place, 32 points behind the final qualification spot currently held by Ireland (France automatically qualify as host). The USA are in 3rd spot and are almost certain to earn qualification for the Olympics.

With USA out of the RAN (Rugby Americas North) Olympic qualifier, it will give Canada a clear path to win the tournament and get Olympic qualification. It’s looking like Canada will host that tournament in Langford in August. Also with no relegation in the women’s tournament this season, there’s little pressure, it’s looking like a pleasant spring and summer for the women’s 7s program. Things will get serious in 2024 with the Olympics and the 2023-24 season introducing relegation in the women’s tournament. Madrid has already been named as the final tournament next season. The Olympics start July 26th, the 2024 7s series will likely wrap up in early July or late June.

There are a number of changes from the Vancouver 7s, out is Fancy Bermudez who is with the XVs team. Bianca Farella and Florence Symonds are out with injury. In are Maddy Grant, Shalaya Valenzuela and Julia Greenshields.

Canada are in a pool with NZ, Great Britain, and Hong Kong. The top two teams in each pool and the top two 3rd place teams make the quarter-finals.

from Rugby Canada

Head Coach Jack Hanratty has named Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team for the sixth and second to last stop of the women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 in Hong Kong.

Following up a season best performance at HSBC Canada Sevens, Canada’s Women’s Sevens Team will compete in Pool A at the Cathay/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, which will take place at Hong Kong Stadium over March 31 to April 2.

Olympian Julia Greenshields returns to the roster for the first time since December following recovery from injury. Several players who made their World Rugby Sevens Series debut earlier this season are back on the roster, including Shalaya Valenzuela and Maddy Grant, who last played in January in Sydney, and Taejah Thompson and Piper Logan, who debuted at Canada Sevens.

Canada’s leading try scorer at HSBC Canada Sevens, Keyara Wardley, could surpass 50 points scored this season in Hong Kong, while Olivia Apps, co-captain with Breanne Nicholas, continues to lead the team in points with 82.

Fancy Bermudez, Renee Gonzalez and Pamphinette Buisa are currently on tour in Spain until April 2 with Canada’s Women’s Rugby Team, and Bianca Farella and Florence Symonds will not play in Hong Kong due to injury. Charity Williams and Asia Hogan-Rochester remain in recovery from long term injuries.

“We are happy to get back in action after an incredible occasion at Canada Sevens,” said Head Coach Jack Hanratty. “Although it was a season best performance for us, we are eager to challenge at the later stages of the tournament. We had big highs in Vancouver, but consistency is what we are striving for.”

Canada opens pool play against Great Britain on Thursday March 30 at 10:52 p.m. PT / Friday March 31 at 1:52 a.m. ET, followed by matches on Friday March 31 against Hong Kong China at 2:52 a.m. PT / 5:52 a.m. ET and New Zealand at 7:41 p.m. PT / 10:41 p.m. ET.


For the most up to date information on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and live coverage, visit the official website world.rugby/sevens-series. There you will find details regarding the event format, schedule, and the latest news.


Broadcast coverage of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will be available in Canada via CBC. All events are available to live stream via cbcsports.ca, the CBC Sports app, and the free CBC Gem streaming service.


1. Olivia De Couvreur (Ottawa, ON) – Ottawa Irish
2. Krissy Scurfield (Canmore, AB) – University of Victoria
4. Breanne Nicholas (Blenheim, ON) – Kent Havoc RFC
5. Julia Greenshields (Sarnia, ON) – Sarnia Saints
11. Piper Logan (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Hornets / University of British Columbia
12. Keyara Wardley (Vulcan, AB) – Not Affiliated
13. Taejah Thompson (Calgary, AB) – Calgary Canadian Irish Athletic Club
16. Alysha Corrigan (Charlottetown, PEI) – CRFC / Saracens
19. Nakisa Levale (Abbotsford, BC) – Abbotsford RFC
21. Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC
23. Shalaya Valenzuela (Abbotsford, BC) – Abbotsford RFC
33. Maddy Grant (Cornwall, ON) – University of Ottawa
77. Chloe Daniels (Sutton, ON) – Aurora Barbarians / Queen’s University

Posted in National Women's 7s.