BC Rugby Schedule – Spring 2022


The schedules have been posted. They’re available in .pdf or .xlsx format.

2022 Spring Schedules in pdf format

2022 Spring Schedules in .xlsx spreadsheet format

Premier Men

There will be 12 teams in the men’s Premier, Nanaimo are not going Premier this season. That will leave JBAA, CW, Westshore, UVic and Pride on the Island and Burnaby, UBC, Capilano, Rowers, Meraloma, UBCOB and Seattle on the Mainland.

There are only 8 matches per team so it’s an unbalanced schedule with some teams getting a better draw. When the Premier stopped in March 2020 due to COVID the top 6 teams were UBC #1, Burnaby #2, Capilano #3, UBCOB #4, Pacific Pride #5, CW #6.

The season is set to start January 22nd, the regular season ends April 9th with three playoff weekends and a finals day of May 7th. There will be a make-up weekend before the Vancouver 7s and a bye weekend during the Vancouver 7s (Feb 26th).

Premier Women

Expect only 5 teams in the women’s Premier, CW and Westshore on the Island and Capilano, Thunderbird, Seattle on the Mainland.

The start and end dates are the same as the men.

1st Division (Premier Reserve) Men

This is where it gets a little confusing as the Premier clubs Reserve teams and Division One teams will interplay so there are 18 teams in the league. All the Premier teams have Reserve sides except Pacific Pride and Seattle. There are also 8 Division One sides, Port Alberni, Cowichan, Nanaimo on the Island and Abbotsford, Bayside, Kamloops, Kelowna, Langley on the Mainland.

The start and end dates are the same as the Premier.

1st Division Women

There are 11 teams entered CW, Cowichan on the Island and Burnaby, Bayside, Thunderbird, Kamloops, Meraloma, Scribes, United, SFU, Abbotsford on the Mainland.

2nd Division Men

There are 6 teams entered Squamish, Scribes, SFU/Ridge Meadows, Surrey, TWU, United.

2nd Division Women

There are 8 teams entered, JBAA, Nanaimo, Comox on the Island and Brit-Lions/Richmond, Capilano/Squamish, Chilliwack, Langley, Rowers on the Mainland

3rd Division Men

There are 19 teams in this division, Comox, CW, Nanaimo, UVic on the Island and Abbotsford, Squamish, Bayside, Brit-Lions, Burnaby, Capilano, Chilliwack, Kats, Kelowna, Langley, Meraloma, Rogues, Richmond, Scribes, UBC on the Mainland.


Ahead of the 2022 Spring season, we anticipate several key changes to our Return to Rugby including the removal of daily attestation requirements, as well as updated program protocols should any player return a positive COVID-19 test. Further updates on this will be communicated once these changes are confirmed.

Furthermore, a reminder that BC Rugby’s COVID-19 Mandatory Vaccination Policy applies to all age groups that are eligible to receive a vaccine in BC. As of November 29, 2021, children aged 5-11 were eligible to receive the Health Canada-approved Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty mRNA vaccine against COVID-19.

Therefore, under the BC Rugby COVID-19 Mandatory Vaccination Policy proof of vaccination for all Members aged 5-11 will be required starting January 24, following a 8-week grace period from when the vaccine was offered (November 29). Clubs may choose to implement this policy in the Sportlomo Registration System or at the Club.


We anticipate a busy Rugby year in 2022, with several key event dates locked in. Please make note of the following events in your calendars:

January 12: Deadline for Girls Can Rugby Day/Youth Coach Funding Applications
January 22: Spring Season Week 1 Fixtures
February 21: HSBC Rookie Rugby Activation (BC Place, 10am-12pm)
February 26-27: HSBC Canada Sevens 2022 (Vancouver)
March 6: Girls Can Rugby Day
April 30-May 1: HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens 2022
May 7: BC Rugby Senior Club Finals
June 25: BC Rugby AGM
July 1-3: Provincial Regional Championships (UBC)
July 21-24: BC Summer Games (Prince George)
July 28-31: Western Canada Rugby Championships (Kelowna)
August 6-21: 2022 Canada Summer Games (Niagara, ON)
October 8-November 12: Women’s Rugby World Cup (New Zealand)

Posted in BC Rugby.