Canada U20 v Uruguay U20

Canada U20 Lose to Uruguay 21-16: Roster Listed

Canada lost to host Uruguay 21-16 in the first match of their tour, they’ll play Spain on May 13th before returning home. Canada were behind 7-6 at half time.

The result is in line with recent historical results and an improvement over last year. Last summer Uruguay won the head to head contest 45-28. The last time the Junior World Rugby Trophy was held was 2019, Uruguay finished 4th, Canada 5th. In 2018, Uruguay finished 5th and Canada 7th, Uruguay won the head to head match 27-23. In 2017 Uruguay hosted and finished 3rd, Canada finished 7th. In 2016 Canada didn’t make the tournament and USA represented North America, USA were 5th and Uruguay 6th. 2015 was the last time Canada finished ahead of Uruguay, Canada were 2nd that year, losing to Georgia in the final while Uruguay finished 3rd. 2015 was the year notable players such as Lucas Rumball, Andrew Coe, Theo Sauder, Phil Berna, Guiseppe du Toit, Ollie Nott, Luke Bradley, Adrian Wadden, Paul Ciulini, Matt Tierney played for Canada U20.

The Canada U20 team announced their roster on Instagram. In the forwards there are 3 UBC players, 2 Cardiff Met, 1 Trinity College, 1 Pacific Pride and 1 UVic player. In the backs there are 2 UBC players, 1 Pacific Pride, 1 Guelph, 1 Queen’s and 2 club players from JBAA and Balmy Beach.

There are 25 players listed (no #19), the 10 reserves have a 6/4 split in the forwards/backs.

The 9/10 combination they chose is the same one used for Canada Red in the trial match, Stephen Webb and Brenden Black. Marcus D’Acre who stood out in the trial match is the starting #12 beside the Pride’s Noah Flesch.

Kickoff is at 3pm PT today but there’s no live stream mentioned at the time of writing.

1 Aaron Clark (Calgary, AB) – Pacific Pride / Canucks RFC
2 Jeffrey Young (Toronto, ON) – Cardiff Met RFC / Toronto Nomads
3 Cole Kelly (Mississauga, ON) – Trinity College Dublin / Wicklow RFC
4 Sol Jacques (Penticton, BC) – University of British Columbia / Penticton Harlequins
5 Joe McNulty (North Vancouver, BC) – University of British Columbia / Capilano RFC
6 Callum Arneson (Fernie, BC) – University of British Columbia / Hillcrest Villagers
7 Taine Clague (Victoria, BC) – University of Victoria / James Bay AA
8 Olly Wiseman (Chiswick, UK) – Cardiff Met RFC / London Wasps
9 Stephen Webb (Toronto, ON) – Balmy Beach RFC
10 Brenden Black (Oakville, ON) – Guelph University / Oakville Crusaders
11 Alastair Marshall (Hudson Bay, SK) – University of British Columbia / Regina Rogues
12 Marcus D’Acre (Oakville, ON) – Queen’s University / Oakville Crusaders
13 Noah Flesch (Coburg, ON) – Pacific Pride / Coburg Saxons
14 Craig Mitchell-Hermann (Abbotsford, BC) – James Bay AA
15 Owain Cormack (North Vancouver, BC) – University of British Columbia / Capilano RFC
16 Charles Trollip (Guelph, ON) – Guelph RFC
17 Caden Wilson (Vancouver, BC) – University of British Columbia
18 Evan Roy (Ottawa, ON) – University of Ottawa / Ottawa Beavers
20 Liam Poulton (Chilliwack, BC) – University of Victoria / Castaway Wanderers
21 James Webb (Toronto, ON) – Queen’s University / Balmy Beach RFC
22 Muiredach Casey (Ottawa, ON) – University of Victoria / Barrhaven Scottish
23 James Clarke (St. John’s, NL) – Pacific Pride / Swilers RFC
24 James Thiel (Abbotsford, BC) – Pacific Pride / Abbotsford RFC
25 Jordan Auger (Ottawa, ON) – University of Victoria / Barrhaven Scottish
26 Jaiden John (Mississauga, ON) – Pacific Pride / Mississauga Blues

Posted in National Men's XVs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *